Javi Serrano and Andrea Pietrobon will be professionals with EOLO Kometa 2023

Two riders from the under-23 team EOLO Kometa will now have the opportunity to continue to grow in the structure. Spaniard Javi Serrano and Italian Andrea Pietrobon have showed their ability to get this opportunity.

A successful season must be followed by a great reward. And the results of Serrano and Pietrobon with EOLO Kometa U23 have determined their jump to the professional team to continue growing and contributing to the squad.

Two victories and countless places of honour have accompanied Javi Serrano’s great role in 2022. A protagonist in Volta a Castelló, Vuelta a Extremadura and above all in Vuelta a Zamora, he has also excelled in international events such as the Gent Wevelgem or the Piccolo Giro di Lombardia. His ability to pass the medium mountains, increasingly developed, together with an exceptional top speed at the sprint, make him a versatile rider who also demonstrates in the decisive moments a great ability to race well.

Javi Serrano: “Jumping to the pros is a dream I’ve had since I was a kid. To suddenly share the peloton with those who have been my idols is something very special. It is also very special to up to the next category with the team that has seen me grow up, with the same people who bet on me when I was 16 years old for the youth team, who continue to trust me. I hope to adapt quickly to the category to be able to help my teammates and the objectives of EOLO Kometa as much as possible. I’m very happy and I can’t wait for the new season to start racing”.

For several weeks, leader of the Spanish Cup in the elite category, Andrea Pietrobon was ambitious from the first moments of the 2022 season. Along the way, outstanding performances in all the time trials contested as well as excellent work for his team-mates. Always at the disposal of the objectives, without giving up top-10 results such as those achieved in Beasain or Vuelta a Navarra.

Andrea Pietrobon: “I am very happy to move to the professional team because this season I was able to do well with the under-23s and I had the opportunity to compete as a stagiaire with two breakaways in four races. I have learned a lot from racing abroad, especially in Spain. The atmosphere and the team have been very enriching, and I’m very happy with the season completed even if it ended with a crash and I’m recovering. I’m very happy to move up to the pros, it’s a dream from when I was a kid and I’ve been able to achieve it. Besides doing it with this team, after the good work with the under-23 team, it will be easy for me to grow in the professional block. I hope to have a great winter so that next year I can start very strong and ride well to help the team as much as possible”.

The promotion of these two riders from the under-23 to the professional team follows the line of work of the Alberto Contador Foundation which, through the EOLO Kometa team, teachs and offers the opportunity to be cyclists to the young talents who have grown up in the structure. Counting Serrano and Pietrobon, there are now 16 riders who have promoted to continue progressing as professionals.

Fran Contador: “The fact that two riders like Javi Serrano and Andrea Pietrobon have joined the professional team gives meaning to a project that has been running for 10 years. It is the reward for the work and the basis of our philosophy, it is undoubtedly something we are particularly proud of. Serrano has been with us since the youth category and at the time, when he had the experience of competing in the Continental category, something very gratifying for us. He came back and the truth is that seeing him in the pros gives meaning to all the work. As for Pietrobon, he came back from doing a great job in Italy and I think that this year being an elite rider but already riding in our structure has been very good for him to adapt and to make the jump to the professional ranks comfortable, without big changes. They are two very well prepared riders who will shine in the team”.

Riders 2023 EOLO Kometa

  • Vincenzo Albanese
  • Lorenzo Fortunato
  • Mirco Maestri
  • Álex Martín
  • David Martín
  • Andrea Pietrobon
  • Javi Serrano